Skip to content

Ferruccio Busoni

Busoni conducted by Horenstein

1966. Royal Festival Hall, London
Jasha Horenstein conducts two works by Busoni with the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra
Composer Ferruccio Busoni
Conductor Jasha Horenstein
Singer Wilfred Brown
Ensemble Royal Philharmonic Orchestra
Instrumentalist Thomas Kelly
Genre Symphonic concert

Busoni composed his orchestral sketch Rondò arlecchinesco in 1915 at the same time as his opera Arlecchino and it derives from musical themes in that opera.  It portrays the character of Harlequin as seen in the commedia del’ arte.

His Concertino for Clarinet and Small Orchestra dates from 1918 and was composed in Switzerland, where Busoni spent the First World War.

Ferrucio Busoni 1866 – 1924

  1. Concertino for Clarinet and Small Orchestra
  2. Rondò arlecchinesco

These recordings are from the collection of Patrick Saul.

  • Thomas Kelly
  • Wilfred Brown
  • Royal Philharmonic Orchestra
  • Jasha Horenstein

Browse the collection

Music Preserved offers you the choice of listening to many of the rare, historically and artistically interesting recordings in its collection.